Diary of the Dead [2007]

Rather a late comer to this one! I see in checking out other reviews that there is now another Romero flick “Survival of the Dead”

I liked a lot about this movie. I thought that the setup felt relatively natural, and I liked the mix of characters. I thought that it was nice that they didn’t do anything particularly stupid, and that while there was petty division, it complicated their situation rather than doomed them.

But I think that the overall film was spoiled by having its social commentary front-and-centre, and explicitly called out by the characters, especially in the voice-over. I don’t have a problem with this technique per se; but I think that what happened in my viewing was that what would have been sub-text ended up text, diluting the impact of the characters’ stories. So the way it was handled here meant that I don’t think it really delivered on either level – much like Land of the Dead actually. Whereas, I think Dawn of the Dead managed to critique consumer society just as effectively, without letting that political message interfere with the presentation of a human story.

It was also obvious, after the discussions about the horror-list, that this movie failed in any way to terrify. I think in part this was largely to the way it was shot and directed, rather than inherent in the situation. I also think that the road-trip nature of the film prevented the pressure-cooker effect that worked so well in Day of the Dead

Overall – I felt this was a good use of 90 minutes, but it left me unsatisfied.

This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Diary of the Dead [2007]

  1. Good summary.

    If you ever find Survival of the Dead, let me know. I would be keen to watch it: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1134854/

Leave a Reply

