The Diamond Age [1995]

Anyone care to explain the Drummers to me?

This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Diamond Age [1995]

  1. its been a while since i read the book, but as I recall they were a evolutionary calculation. I can’t recall what for.

    they used intercourse to exchange data and those who “succeeded” passed on their data and those whose data was “unsucessful” did not, I think it caused them to die somehow.

  2. threemonkeys says:

    I don’t remember the book well enough to answer, but I have to ask why so many people are reading The Diamond age right now? From your tags, I’m speculating that it is an assignment for a course?

    • mashugenah says:

      I’m reading it for a course, yes. Why others are reading it, I could only speculate.

      Generally I don’t really enjoy NS that much. He can’t write characters, he gets too easily side-tracked by technical explanations, and he seems perpetually unable to resolve the immensely complex situations he creates.

  3. xanomon says:

    It’s been a while since I read the Diamond Age. But in the back of my head I remember thinking that the drummers were NS riffing of the non-verbal communication/brain programming ideas from Snow Crash.

    Basically a new culture being spawned by people giving up on using speech and communicating on a much more direct fashion giving rise to people acting like a large distributed organism.

    It also reminded me of the War against the Chtorr books where some humans reacted to the Alien invasion and terraforming by reverting to a pre-verbal herd culture where they subsumed their identity into the herd.

    I really like NS basically because of the infodumps, I would agree that he is pretty weak on characters a lot of the time.

Leave a Reply

