9 Princes of Amber [1970]

Book 1 of 5 down.

This reminds me of all the old classic SF authors – it’s a story stripped down to its bones and sinew, no real artistic frippery. As a consequence it feels emotionally hollow to me, but covers a lot of interesting possibilities in its short run. I can see why John thought Zelazny would have written the Wheel of Time in a plausible and reasonable length! 🙂

The story structure feels extremely weird to me – there’s a real sense of anti-climax in the last 5 chapters. I haven’t yet started the next book, but I think if it’s along the lines of the blurb on the back, then shifting the last five chapters of the previous book to the beginning of the second.

All-in-all: a pretty enjoyable bit of writing, though hardly profound at this stage.

Right: now onto Book 2. One sad side-effect of my current 100%-booked lifestyle is that even a slender tome like this is a fortnight’s reading. :/ God knows how long it will take me to get through Illuminatus!

This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 9 Princes of Amber [1970]

  1. adrexia says:

    One sad side-effect of my current 100%-booked lifestyle is that even a slender tome like this is a fortnight’s reading.

    I don’t associate the Amber chronicles with “slender”. It turns out that that’s because the only book I’ve seen is “The Great Book of Amber” which contains all 10 chronicles.

    http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/z/roger-zelazny/great-book-of-amber.htm

    This makes me suspect that the individual books are in fact tiny…

    • xanomon says:

      I have a similar problem in that I love the first book of amber. But after that it becomes increasingly dulll and I have never managed to get past about the fifth book.

    • wit_devil says:

      Yea, that’s the copy that I own. It’s pretty massive, but the individual books are relatively short.

Leave a Reply

