King Kong [2005]

So, I’ve seen two romantic comedies in the last few days. Hitch and King Kong. I think Hitch has been most aptly summarised as a by-the0numbers effort that’s not going to let you down on the core point of a Romantic Comedy. It lacks the zany zest of something like The Wedding Crashers, and Will Smith just isn’t as cute as Owen Wilson, but whatcha gonna do…

King Kong‘s a bit trickier to talk about, but then since it’s twice as long you’d expect there was more to say. It’s been a long time since I saw either the 1937 version of the 1975 remake, so can’t really compare what’s going on between editions.

My overwhelming feeling through the last hour of the movie was on the pointless waste. I think Peter Jackson captured the essence of Sophocles’ bleaker tragedies perfectly. Kong can’t end well, and so you watch the unfolding disaster with a kind of morbid fascination. Unfortunately, it’s not possible to really feel a human connection with Kong because when you boil it down, he’s a giant ape. Naomi Watts tries to breathe life into the endeavour, but come on, it’s a love story between an “actress with a heart of gold” and 25′ APE!

The ending is … unsubtle. If you’re surprised by anything that happens after about 25-30 minutes, you were asleep for that time. The foreshadowing is blatant and frequent, and the imagery loudly signposted. When the cabin boy first turns up with a copy of Heart of Darkness your astute viewer goes “cool – this is a journey about obsession”, and if you didn’t then there’s a 5 minute narrative monologue to explain it. The whole “love doesn’t need words” line being peddled by Brody’s character is also tediously expository. I could go on, but you get the point.

The other thing I’d say is that the movie had too many climaxes. The middle hour is just a Lucasian orgy of FX which makes the actual climactic rampage through New York seem pretty tame. I think other people have also commented on the odd pacing: fast then slow. I thought that almost worked.

The dialogue wasn’t that flash in places, but by god there were some good lines at other times. I think all the human cast put in solid efforts, especially Jack Black who just owned the screen. I find Adrien Brody very samish – slightly bemused and concerned.

Overall recommendation? Go see it. It’s got its faults, but it is extremely beautiful (though not as pretty as Hero) has some truly tense and frightening moments and stands acceptably as a pulp-era tribute.

This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to King Kong [2005]

  1. grendel_khan says:

    >So, anyway, since I’m haemorraghing readers anyway, feel free to save >yourself the trouble of skipping past my posts and just remove me >altogether from your F list.

    Nah, your stuff is if not always relevant to what i am doing, well written and often very random. far too much thought put into it πŸ™‚ if i did not read your blog i might forget you exist, i see you so infrequently.

    How come your last post disapeared?, one minute it was there, and then poof.

    i am curious as to what you did that has stopped house monkey talking to you, not that i think you are missing anything really. sounds like your party got a lot more interesting after we left anyway.

    anywho, take care dude. sucks about the chick, but better you find out shes crazy now than when you are completely emotionally attached.

    AL

    • mashugenah says:

      if i did not read your blog i might forget you exist, i see you so infrequently.

      It’s true. :/ It was nice to see you and Rachel at the party. One of the many things I’m hoping to achieve over the holidays is the assembly of my Menoth stuff and some games early next year up at the club.

      How come your last post disapeared?, one minute it was there, and then poof.

      I posted it, then felt remorse so made it private, and now I’ve put it back. It’s always hard to write when you’re emotional. 😦 There’s nothing actually private in it though, so… *shrug*

      It’s one thing LJ is handy for though. I saw in town like half an hour afterwards and just couldn’t think of a way to bring it up, then felt stupid for the omission.

      i am curious as to what you did that has stopped house monkey talking to you,

      God, just the most trivial bit of semantics in the universe… but he got quite upset and made it clear I’m the absolute and unmitigated villain of the piece and must make amends ™. That was before the party though; which did get much more interesting for me after everyone left. πŸ˜‰ (are lewd jokes appropriate at this stage? hmm… shall ponder before making more)

  2. Calling a woman crazy because she doesn’t want to get into a relationship, for whatever reason, is unpleasant.

    Cheer up, dude.

    • mashugenah says:

      To be fair, for a guy self-titled “Mashugenah”, a touch of crazy is probably a good thing! πŸ™‚

      This is one of those occasions where I can plausibly believe that timing was a significant factor. Although I slightly suspect I’m not her usual brand… 😐

      Also: your first comment! πŸ™‚ Welcome. πŸ™‚

    • grendel_khan says:

      I’m of the opinion that this whole sordid, do i still, don;t i anymore, love/hate/ lust etc etc etc that seems to come with relationships pretty much defines the person that can;t make a decision crazy (to a certain degree anyway), man or woman.

      its not that hard to say, thats over, this is starting. if you did not want that to finish, then you should not have stopped it, so why are you starting a new thing.

      yep its all very simple, but thats me πŸ™‚ if some one is going to flipflop on you (and i have seen that crap mess other of my friends around) then better to find out the craziness early, before to much is invested.

      And mash, you better come along for a game, you have not seen power gaming till you have played warmachine πŸ™‚

      • mashugenah says:

        To a large extent I don’t think that you ever really go into a new relationship with a clean slate. There’s almost always a residue of some kind on both sides. Not that it matters now, really. And if I’d been the right guy for her she’d have forgotten whatshisface. *shrugs* I had a good few weeks, so no real complaints. πŸ™‚

  3. http://archive.gamespy.com/comics/dorktower/archive.asp?nextform=viewcomic&id=1067
    People taking you off their Friends list is not that big a deal. It’s really not.

    Steph

    • mashugenah says:

      In my own mind, this journal is a thinking space rather than a record of my life. I know that in reality the majority of the posts are me just recalling what I did or said, but when someone doesn’t like what I write en masse it’s the same as if someone didn’t like a painter’s ouvre…

      Of course, it’s also a social hub; I organise many social outings via here.

  4. mashugenah says:

    Yeah. It all makes sense. Truly you are wise. πŸ™‚

  5. andymacdaddy says:

    I definitely read your posts, it’s just that I can’t think of anything particularly good to say in response. It’s my lack of inspiration rather than your ability to write something interesting :-).

  6. jezebellion says:

    I read your posts, they are really interesting. You’re an astute guy πŸ™‚

  7. nishatalitha says:

    I like reading your posts. And yeah. Hope your holidays improve, and that Rotorua isn’t too bad, if you’re still going there.

  8. Anonymous says:

    “I think Peter Jackson captured the essence of Sophocles’ bleaker tragedies perfectly.”

    Approaching Pseuds’ Corner at a stately 90…

    — Ivan

Leave a Reply

